Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Tell us about hunting in the PNW here!

Old 02-21-2014, 07:50 PM   #1
quattroluvr
Leigh

Send a message via Skype™ to quattroluvr
Introduction, need spear buddies

Hi Pac NW spearos,

Leigh from Portland here. (A guy btw - I get junk mail for 'Ms. Leigh' all the time.)
I've learned tons from this forum for some weeks now, thanks to everyone for the great insights. I'm a total newbie to spearing, but am beginning. First with scuba, where I have skills+gear already, then consider adding freediving to the mix (when budget allows for a whole 'nother set of gear$$). I recently blew my dive budget to shreds with a Fusion dry suit, then a Riffe gun coming soon. Regards freediving, I just read in a recent thread about a 1-day pool class in Portland area in March, I just might take that class to get some knowledge.

When I'm not diving, I'm climbing, hiking, mt-biking or doing photography. My photo site is at www.leighandersonphotography.com

Experience: About 200 scuba dives, ~half in Pac NW and half in tropics, over last 15 yrs or so. I always carry a pony tank. A few dozen shallow free dives while snorkeling in tropics. Spearing experience = 0. Don't have a RIB or kayak, though a kayak is intriguing for getting to OR reefs on calm days.

Buddies? I'm hoping initially, to find some scuba spear buddies. Oregon coast jetties from shore primarily, maybe an offshore charter, or one can hope someone has a spot on a RIB. (WA seems so restrictive except Neah Bay.)

I'd really like to go with some folks to Neah Bay the April 26 wknd, good tides and Lings are open.