Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing

Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing Post here to discuss regional action or issues about spearing on Florida's Gulfcoast.

Old 04-25-2018, 09:35 PM   #1
Bonedaddio

Post New guy

Hi, I'm new to spear fishing and new to diving in the Tampa area. I moved to FL about a year ago, and promptly bought an older Outrage 20'; after fixing what needed fixing and re-powering to 200hp, I'm pretty ready to go. I've done some fishing and I want to go spear fishing. Oh Hell Yeah!

I'm new to a lot of this, so I'm looking for people to dive with, etc.
Also info on weights for free diving and scuba, as I don't have any yet.
I'm open water cert., from a ways back, but I'm rusty and need a few things like weights and longer fins. Got pretty much everything else.

So I'm just gonna shut up and observe, and ask a few questions.
Just let me say, you all are inspirational, especially the videos, and as soon as I can (and some warmer water would probably help, I guess) I hope to get out there!

I'll take tips, criticism, advice all equally well.

Thanks!

Les
Bonedaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 07:52 AM   #2
CuzzA

Re: New guy

Welcome to the board, Les.

My advice is to get some dives in before you start spearfishing. Knock off some dust and do some checkout dives.

I think everyone would agree, it takes being a good diver to be a good spearfisherman. I'm looking forward to some future reports.
CuzzA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 09:54 AM   #3
Marcus
Naval gazer extraordinair