Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Old 02-22-2013, 02:07 AM   #1
bconge

Beginner - Saying hello/looking for advice

What's up everyone. I am just starting out and thought I would introduce myself and see what advice I could get to improve and gather more gear. I live in Ventura County and I usually head out anywhere around Malibu. Right now I am just working with my 4-3 surfing wetsuit, bodyboard fins, and a polespear or hawaiian sling if I can get it working. I've also got a knife and weights. I've been going out around County Line/Leo Carrillo lately to see what I can see and I am loving it. Any recommendations on places to go? Any advice for a noob? Or, any advice on what my next investment for gear should be--hoping to put my tax return to good use. Thanks in advance!
bconge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:38 AM   #2
IanB

Re: Beginner - Saying hello/looking for advice

I don't know about places to go since I'm not from the area, but I was in your situation at one point and I'd say the biggest improvement for you would be getting new fins. Doesn't even necessarily need to be nice freediving fins, but anything longer than body boarding fins will be a huge improvement.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
AndSan714