Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum

Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum (http://www.spearboard.com/index.php)
-   All About Kayak Diving (http://www.spearboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=175)
-   -   New to Kayak spearfishing; Loreto, Baja Mexico (http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=195874)

billder99 01-31-2018 01:58 PM

New to Kayak spearfishing; Loreto, Baja Mexico

I've been spearfishing here for 12 years, just embarked on a new adventure... sold the Panga and bought a kayak (Cobra Tourer, 15'x28")... kayak spearfishing in Sea of Cortez should be some wild good fun!

This morning, I was out on the water kayaking for the first time. I've been scouting kayak accessible dive spots, so I went for a test run to one of those. I only brought dive gear, no spear or fishing gear... I remember what it was like learning to manage spearing equipment in the water (like wrestling 3 octopus), I assumed learning to kayak will be the same. Start simple!

It was a 4 mile round trip, calm clear water, with a nice swim/dive... saw 4 cabrilla in the 20# range, and a 10# pargo... great way to start the day. I expected my arms/shoulders to burn while paddling, but surprised at how tired my abs/wrists/hands are... great little workout. Now I need to learn good kayak technique.

peripatetic 01-31-2018 03:08 PM

Re: New to Kayak spearfishing; Loreto, Baja Mexico

Kayaks make a great spearfishing platform, but make sure you keep a close eye on the weather. The Sea of Cortez can get nasty when the wind comes up, and paddling home in rough seas can be an experience.

billder99 01-31-2018 04:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by peripatetic (Post 2160705)
Kayaks make a great spearfishing platform, but make sure you keep a close eye on the weather. The Sea of Cortez can get nasty when the wind comes up, and paddling home in rough seas can be an experience.